Greed

Audio Department Support

26 posts in this topic

hi there,
reporting for duty. ;)
hereby, i'd officially offer my service for the game.
i work as an audio professional in a broadcast/cinema/media studio and own a studio for music/film or game scoring/sound design and so on.
reflex is a great project that deserves top notch quality imo and i'm happy to contribute with content or technical assistance concerning anything audio.

first things first:
there is no intention to steal anyones job like this, really. this is meant to be audio support from the community.
however, i can definitely deliver all sound content needed, especially since dark and techy stuff is my most passionate domain.
in the following, i'm about to adress and discuss sound issues and throw in some content and technical advice for your consideration.
feel free to hit me about audio editing, mixing, mastering, sound design, music, (psycho-)acoustics, etc... (and puredata to some extent)

best regards,
greed
/fragile, jukebox, RAW and 21 others like this

to start off, here are a few sfx that i remixed in order to solve issues or to get a feel for the sound engine.
just sharing some first aid made with a filthy scalpel, hope it helps for someone. cheers :)

Ion Cannon and Bolt Rifle firing:
- original BR felt too weak for me (there is also a 2nd version named *.bak that i use atm with some twirly decay)
- 3rd person firing sfx (mostly IC and BR) are pretty hard to locate in the stereo field, these sfx don't solve it but the guns feel better to me

Mega Health pickup and expire:
- the sound for the expiring MH buff kinda drowns within normal gameplay (using the pickup sfx for expire aswell works even better)

Character Pain 50 + 100 dmg:
- both sfx raised in level and presence by some distortion, eq, dynamics, etc

Installation: simply extract ZIPs into ".../reflexfps/base/internal/"
Credits: all sfx are remixed versions from the original game content