Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
tangy

Thoughts on current stake gun

23 posts in this topic

I'm not a developer, but I am curious about what the community thinks of the current stake gun now that's its been in the game for a little while. What do you think should be changed, should it be changed, or should it even be implemented into normal play.

• Should be a weapon of it's own, not a bolt/burst/shotty replacement.
  • Faster cooldown 800-1000ms, fuck it being a high risk weapon like bolt.
  • More visible projectile trail similar to grenades, more straight and different colour ofc.
  • The colour of the weapon pickup is confusing and too similar to shotgun. It could be white for example, because no other pickup uses white.
  • Add weapon and ammo items for map editor.
  • Don't force it into maps that don't have it by default.

Still too easy to hit and too low damage,either make it high risk high reward weapon, either like smileyshithe sayd - 800-1000ms reload with 100 dmg would work too,damn with that reload we even could implement Painkiller grenade-stake combo

I personally am more in support of making stake gun something similar to bolt rifle.

The problem with decreasing the cycle time to 800-1000ms is that it becomes far too useful at close range which should not be the primary area of use for the stake, especially with how slow the projectile speed currently is. It is very difficult to hit an aware opponent at long distance with the current projectile velocity and so making the cycle time faster would make the weapon too powerful at close range, and still unviable at long range. At close range the stake functions essentially as hitscan and the last thing we need is a fast cycling hitscan high dmg weapon, like pre-nerf bolt.

I am more in favor of keeping the max ammo count low, increasing the projectile velocity (maybe 3500), and signficantly decreasing the rate of fire (so that it is similar cycle time to bolt rifle)