xGhoul

eSports???

12 posts in this topic

I'm new to the AFPS community, so maybe I'm just missing something, but I haven't really seen a lot of competitions, besides a few online cups. Has anybody ever brought this game to LAN attention? I'm a huge fan of offline competition, and I'd really like to see Reflex get some spotlight.

Most of the reflex top players wouldn't turn up to a LAN. Even if you paid for their flights and hotels & they had a top pc waiting for them at the event, and alls they had to do was bring themselves, they still wouldn't.

If you were to host a LAN it would have to be in Germany or the Netherlands, since anywhere else would be too big of a distance for people to travel.

There used to be online tournaments in the past, but there hasn't really been a proper Duel tournament since EU#3, and Duel is alls people really care about tbh.

That's a shame. I really would like to see the game grow as a competitive medium. I feel like it's something an organization like ESL would pick up if they saw support for it.

No players, no spectators

No spectators, no revenue

No revenue, no sponsors

No sponsors, no pro interest

No pro interest, no LANs

One step at a time.

Unfortunately the world of esports is just another business that revolves 100% around profit,  and has nothing to do with the competitive merit of a game.

its possible that people would turn up to a lan in germany/netherlands for the fun. after all, thats kind of how esports got started in the first place. I think I would turn up for one, for instance, and im not sponsored or have any chance of winning anything xD

HaraldQuake likes this

well thats the thing, the uk is (manchester or liverpool afaik) is a long way away, and involves either driving for 12 hours, or getting a flight. netherlands/germany are a few hours of motorway away for most people..

Posted (edited)

1 hour ago, thelawenforcer said: