GambitMovada

Best Mouse for Reflex

Question

11 answers to this question

I'm not an expert (not even close) but I've had a good experience with Logitech mice. I used an MX518 happily for close to a decade, and it'd probably still be going strong if I hadn't relegated it to laptop use & replaced it with a G400, which I'm also happy with.

This post is out of date, but interesting, and perhaps useful in a general way: http://www.esreality.com/?a=post&id=1265679

edit: the Deathadder got the same treatment here -- http://www.esreality.com/?a=post&id=1300293 (click the 'next page' link to get to the start of the actual review) -- but I'm not sure what the relationship is between the 2007 Deathadder and the current version.

Edited by matt_au

Logitech MX518... using that as well. Though using it for 5.5 years how, I still miss the old non-optical mice like the MouseMan Pilot (using a mouse ball, having weight). Especially in Q3A the old MouseMan mouse was the best way to play instagib for me... oh well :)

Note: I am nowhere near any competitive level in Reflex.

Most (but not all) optical mouse sensors nowadays are very good, which means it's hard to go wrong. You should concentrate on finding a mouse with a good shape for your hand, low weight (easier to move) and good build quality. On the note of build quality... avoid Razer, unless you don't mind replacing your mouse every 2 years. Any mouse with rubberised side grips is going to be terrible in the long run, because they will wear out like your friend's 5 year old greasy Xbox controller analogue stick, except even worse. It's a terrible design trend.

Anyway, good mice to look into are any Zowie mice (great all-rounders, they've also now partnered with BenQ), Logitech G303 (has the best sensor of any mouse) and Rapoo V300 (very comfy shape and weight to use).