Sharqosity

Someone needs to make a CS:GO -> Reflex transition guide

Half of the new people I talk to in Reflex come from cs:go. I know a lot about the Source engine myself, but I never got into cs:go and I'm not good at making guides. Think of how many people would benefit if this guide was made.

Edited by Sharqosity

Those 2 games barely share any similarities gameplay-wise besides the point-of-view. Aiming is totally different, movement .... the only thing i can think of is: "listen to sounds carefully". Everything else is just way too different, so there's no point in a CS:GO -> Reflex-Trainsition-Guide, because it'd basically be just a Reflex-Guide :P

3 hours ago, tangy said:

Raise sensitivity. csgo players use way too low of a sensitivity anyways.

Not sure I agree; CS players rarely play on a sens over 20 inches, while quite a few Reflex/Quake players do so.

9 hours ago, klyph0rd said:

Not sure I agree; CS players rarely play on a sens over 20 inches, while quite a few Reflex/Quake players do so.

Might want to check your source on that. If they do then they have accel.

20cm - 40cm is fairly standard in Arena FPS games, although you get extremes on both ends. Here's some Reflex players cm/360 https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ZIwA9K7OCVUcZ4id7wb0UPpo_iJWghO55BU1H3ERCrg/edit#gid=1053392502

Also we did a video a few months ago explaining the bare bones of an Arena FPS duel game is. Hopefully it's in a short enough format that it's not too boring:

But specifics between CS and Reflex besides positioning being important in both there isn't a great deal of overlap. 

9 hours ago, Gilanguar said:

20cm - 40cm is fairly standard in Arena FPS games, although you get extremes on both ends. Here's some Reflex players cm/360 https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ZIwA9K7OCVUcZ4id7wb0UPpo_iJWghO55BU1H3ERCrg/edit#gid=1053392502