Sign in to follow this  
Aliencat

[dm / 1v1] Roundhouse Kick

Hey everyone. Old q3 player here, loving Reflex Arena!

I made a small 1v1 / deathmatch map with all weapons, RA, YA, MH, for fast action.
It's my first try so I'm looking for opinions/feedback.

What do you guys think?

roundhouse01.jpg

roundhouse02.jpg

roundhouse03.jpg

roundhousetop.jpg

Steam link: http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=880748260

Edited by Aliencat
fixed broken link

Wow, it looks great! I'll try and playtest it later on this evening and give you some feedback :)

edit: just played on it now. It looks very cool, although i don't think the brick/stonework walls work well with the overall industrial aesthetic, but other than that very cool. And the MH room is a work of art. But the item placement is all kinds of wrong. You can loop the map very very easily, you've got a doubleback tele that links yellow armour to red armour, only one RL, the RL and the IC are right next to each other, and the RL is very close to red armour too. And the map being as small as it is, you can get to mega very quickly too.

I'd say it has potential but it really needs some work. Hopefully you can get some feedback from better players than myself.

Thanks for the feedback, I appreciate it.
I see what you mean. Do you think I should lose the YA altogether, or should it be somewhere else?

I'll move the weapons around a bit, any suggestions as to which should be where?

I appreciate the time you took to create a q3/ql look, and did a great job of clipping the map. Here are 2 small clipping issues i found.

4eBAMId.jpg

7E5n2C2.jpg

The mega room is really very cool. The curved ledge works wonders with the jumppad + air control, and mega + rail, albeit really close together, are in fun positions. It's the thing that really makes the map worth playing right now, fights in this room are very fun.