Sign in to follow this  
chronokun

circlemap - arena of circular death

I'd like to be able to create that level of smoothness in regular maps. Was it difficult to get the shapes right, or do you have a method?

I wrote a function to generate tetrahedral brushes from triangles and with that a program that writes them to a text file and then copy-pasta them into the .map file. I will probably extend it to make a .obj to brush converter but right now it's pretty primitive.

Here's the source code in-case you wanted to take a look:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/tsi24lvadggihnj/ReflexBrushTest.zip?dl=0

Oh yikes, I have no idea what to do with that. I have no knowledge of programming, so this is way out of my league.

Yeah, don't worry it's not exactly a usable/useful program anyway, just a quick little test to see how things work before attempting anything more ambitious like a stand alone map editor or tool for converting meshes to brushes for doing more complex maps or something like that. The map was really just a proof of concept to try it out. :)

This would be great for when we get multi selection of brushes. I know you say it was a test but will come in handy in the future.

I did try to do a spiral stair case but after 4 hours of trying it I settled for a semi circle broken looking stair case :). from the screenshot it looks like you did it with one up one down i tried with just all the same going in the same direction IE: made a sq brush got rid of 2 verts and streched up, copy pasted and then by eye tried to line up so it curvered

Using floating point coordinates, how very evil ;)... I am astounded that one sees no gaps... but then again I did all my mapping on engines that need their maps to be "watertight" and using floats would normally be an issue. But this is really amazing. Very cool demo.